Washington: We await Ankara’s clarification on its decision to expel ambassadors of a number of countries

The US State Department announced that it is waiting for the Turkish side to clarify Ankara’s decision to expel the ambassadors of 10 countries, including the US ambassador.

A US State Department official said: “We have read these reports and are seeking clarification from the Turkish Foreign Ministry on this.”

For its part, the United States, France, Germany, Canada, Denmark, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Sweden and Finland called, in a joint statement last Monday, for the release of Turkish dissident Osman Kavala, saying that “his continued detention raises doubts about democracy and the rule of law in Turkey.”

Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan recently announced that he has instructed his foreign minister to take immediate measures to ensure that these 10 ambassadors are declared persona non grata in Turkey.

The Turkish authorities accuse Kavala of “seeking to destabilize the country,” as he will appear again before the court on November 26.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button